NoodleTools is online citation software available to HIS students, faculty, and staff. With NoodleTools, you can easily:
NoodleTools takes the stress out of citing your sources.
The Day A daily news source from the UK for students, offering three different reading levels. Includes articles pinned to the IB Learner Profile and to Theory of Knowledge.
CommonLit offers over 2,000 high-quality free reading passages for grades 3-12.
Newsela Articles and text sets leveled for reading and comprehension. Lots of interesting current information for any student.
JSTOR - If you have logged in at school, you should have home access to this academic research database, with thousands of peer-reviewed books and articles to support the Extended Essay and IA research.
HIS has also purchased additional databases from Gale Cengage. These can be accessed at https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/vnhis, with the password "empower". The best titles for HIS secondary students are:
Gale In Context: Middle School
Databases and Websites by Subject Area from the libguides pages of another IB school.
"A Few Tools for Academic Research" includes a list of free databases and directories.
The World Digital Library offers 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000.
SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+. Two new titles are available each week from May through July. Sign-up to get notifications each week when the FREE audiobooks are available.
Over 5000 free online books and several thousand quotes and poems.
Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages. Many of the passages also have a related reading strategy identified. Each reading passage can also be downloaded as a PDF and printed for use as a read-along or as supplemental reading material for your classroom.
Audible has opened a collection of free audiobooks for kids. "...Kids everywhere can instantly stream an incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet."